Posted by: Caitlynn | August 25, 2010

Meme!

(Gotten from my sister, Dara, who got it from Lynda Schab.)

What’s your favorite genre of writing? Fantasy

How often do you get writer’s block? It depends on what I’m writing and the pace I’m writing at. If the story is interesting and I’m squeezing it in or rushing to get it done, then it doesn’t pop up too often. But once I lose interest or focus on a project, I get writer’s block nearly every time I sit down to work on it.

How do you fix it? I have to change my tactics each time to ward off the writer’s block…it’s tricky and knows how to adapt. 😛 My current solution seems to be sipping on coffee while listening to strange “Vocaloid” songs. Caffeine and music usually help. Oddly enough, changing the time of day I write during also helps a lot (the writer’s block must not be able to find me…haha).

Do you type or write by hand? Mostly type, especially for novels. If it’s a short story, sometimes I’ll write it by hand first.

Do you save everything you write? Yep. At least, I started doing so once I became a little more serious about my writing.

Do you ever go back to an old idea long after you abandoned it? Definitely, but the original idea usually ends up getting altered quite a bit by the time I’m done.

Do you have a constructive critic? Hmm…I used to have a writer friend who I exchanged a few stories with, and we’d provide some constructive criticism for each other. Haven’t done that in a while, though.

Did you ever write a novel? Unpublished novels needing LOTS of revisions and rewrites count, right? If so, I’ve written three, and I’m working on a fourth.

What genre would you love to write but haven’t? I’ve already experimented with most of the ones that’ve caught my eye, but I really haven’t done many mystery stories. I’d love to be able to write a good detective story once in my life, but I don’t know if it’ll happen. I’d also love to write at least one good historical fiction story and action story, but they also seem difficult for me.

What’s one genre you have never written, and probably never will? Um…….smut? Ha! Not sure that that’s really a genre, but I can honestly say I’ve never written it and NEVER will.

How many writing projects are you working on right now? Actively, only one. But I have quite a few waiting for me once I’m finished.

Do you write for a living? Do you want to? Currently, I can’t even claim to be making a living at anything. So no, I don’t really write for a living, but I have been doing a little freelance writing online. I would love to make a living out of it, though.

Have you ever written something for a magazine or newspaper? Only my college newspaper.

Have you ever won an award for your writing? I got a small amount of scholarship money once for a paper I wrote in college. The paper won the regional undergraduate scholarship at the Alpha Chi convention during my junior year.

Do you ever write based on your dreams? Sometimes. I have a few story ideas waiting to be worked on that originated from dreams, but I’m not sure if I’ve actually written any of them out yet.

Do you favor happy endings, sad endings, or cliff-hangers? Happy endings, without a doubt. I prefer reading stories with happy endings, and they’re just about the only thing I can write, too. Even when I try to write a sad ending, I usually end up changing it into something happier at the last minute.

Leave a Reply

Categories

