Posted by: Caitlynn | June 28, 2010

Excuse #1 — Mooncakes

This afternoon, I had a few good free hours, with which I could’ve done some writing. Instead, I baked. Just what did I bake? Mooncakes.

My guess is that these were not authentic mooncakes. I’ve never actually had one, so I can’t say for sure, but something didn’t quite seem right. Don’t get me wrong…I followed the recipe, and they turned out great (very yummy, as a matter of fact), but the recipe was suspiciously easy and convenient for Western cooks/bakers. Moreover, the finished product comes out nothing like what a traditional Chinese mooncake looks like.

Traditional Mooncake:

My Mooncake:

Well, but authentic or not, they do taste really good. If anyone else is looking for a distraction from their writing and happens to find enjoyment in baking, you can find the recipe here:  Easy Chinese Mooncakes

So, as you can see, I was far too busy making these earlier to get to my writing. But maybe this evening I’ll have better luck…

Responses

  1. they do look tasty!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

