Posted by: Caitlynn | February 20, 2010

A Change of Pace

A couple weeks ago, I did a very foolish thing:  I started work on a new writing project.

If all goes according to plan, this one will turn out to be a novella. Granted, it’s been two weeks, and I’m only 30 pages / 8,250 words into it, so my pacing is a bit slower than usual. And part of that was also stuff that I stole from a short story I wrote a little while back, so not even all of those 30 pages are recent ideas. Bah.

It’s so strange, though. It seems this one is tied more closely to my mood than most of my other WiP have been, which makes it a little more difficult to motivate myself into writing once I finally manage to squeeze in the time (usually when I have to “squeeze in” writing time, it means that I’m busy…and probably not getting enough sleep…and therefore, slightly to extremely irritable).

At any rate, I figure it has something to do with the fact that it’s a real-world setting rather than a fantasy one. It’s harder to escape into my novella’s world because, oh look, it bears a marked resemblance to my own. Imagine that. Aside from that, I can’t quite decide what genre to classify this as, either. It has some romantic elements, but the overall story is more based on friendship, so I’m not sure if it’d qualify as a ‘Romance.’ So…what then? Literary? Hmm.

And then, I still have the problem of setting. I realize that, for as difficult as world-building is in fantasy books, adapting a story to fit snugly within the confines of reality is a challenge in and of itself. Especially for someone like me, who has seen very little of the real world yet. 😛

I’m also not sure if I like how it’s going so far. I’ve already changed one scene several times, and still feel slightly discontented with it. Moreover, even though it’s not a fantasy story, I feel like it still needs more “magic” to it. I’m not sure how to infuse that in there, however.

So yes. Foolish me, starting a new work while I have two perfectly good ones standing by, patiently waiting for me to revise them. And during my last semester of college, too. I must be mad.

Leave a Reply

Categories

