Posted by: Caitlynn | July 27, 2009

Oh, to be an artist…

As in, one who can actually draw. 😛

I adore having pictures of my characters, but my own artistic skills are somewhat lacking; I can’t draw people very well. But whenever I start working on a story, I end up really, really wanting pictures of my characters, especially the protagonists. Unfortunately, the only picture I have of Riona is this:

It’s a cute lil’ sketch thing that I did on my computer a few months back. But…eh…it just doesn’t do the trick. I mean, c’mon, she doesn’t even have a face. 😛

I might try to draw a better picture here soon, but odds are, my perfectionist self will have a difficult time dealing with the fact that I’m less-than-grand at it, and will either give up as a result or finish but never show the drawing to the outside world.

I’m also tempted to have someone do a cheap commission picture of her…twice before I’ve had others draw my own characters; in the first instance, I was THRILLED with how it turned out; the second, slightly less so, but it was still a fun experience. Cheap commissions can be a bit tricky to find sometimes, but not impossible, since college and art school students sometimes offer them as a means of making a bit of extra cash. In fact, someone whose artwork I’m familiar with via DeviantArt recently announced that they’re doing $10 sketch commissions. Let’s just say that I am very, very tempted right now.

But, oh, if only I had better artistic skills of my own… 😛

***UPDATE

So I did end up doing a quick sketch of Riona, which I then scanned into my computer and played around with a bit. It’s nothing fantastic, but..meh…it’s something, at least:

Responses

  1. Better than I could draw!

    I’d go for the commission drawings 🙂 For all three of your main characters.

    Oh to have someone do that for my other book…the only pictures I use tend to be ones of real people but even they don’t look exactly how I picture them.

  2. Yeah, I’m going for it. 😛 Though right now, I’m just having a drawing done of Riona. But I really, really want some sketches of Aidan and Daegan, too, especially since I’ve pretty much given up altogether on drawing guys at all and therefore have absolutely no images of them.

    I’ll let you know how it turns out! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

