Posted by: Caitlynn | July 23, 2009

Time to choose some names!

I really loathe trying to decide on names for characters… 😦

Anywho. When I began to work on my worldbuilding for WoSWoL, I realized that I should first probably decide on a few names for characters who I had attempted to leave nameless in previous drafts. πŸ˜›

Just some quick background on the two characters I’m trying to name: they’re a couple from a centuries-old legend who have a tragic-and-cliche-star-crossed love. The guy is the prince of a water-dwelling tribe, while the girl is just a maiden who happens to belong to a winged tribe. (Hmm…I should probably give their tribes/races names, too…dang it). So I decided to give them names corresponding to their respective tribes. Here are a few that I’ve narrowed it down to:

Guy:
Meris, “Of the Sea,” Latin
Dillan, “Son of the Sea,” Welsh
Moshe, “Drawn out of the Water,” Hebrew
Nen, “Ancient Waters,” Egyptian
Calder, “From the Wild Water,” Scottish

Girl:
Caelia / CΓ¦lia, “Heavenly,” Latin
Kailani, “Sea and Sky,” Hawaiian
Celestyn, “Heavenly,” Polish
Elysia, “Heaven,” Latin
Sema, “Sky,” Turkish
Nalani, “Heavens,” Hawaiian

I have a few other names as well, but…meh. These are the ones that seem to strike my fancy the most. Any leanings? Or any names not listed that you’d like to suggest?

I’m also considering whether or not to add another character to this whole little background legend. She’d be sort of a jealous rival for the water prince’s affections, and she’d act as a catalyst to the disasters that follow. But I’m still not sure about that.

Bah…then, after I decide on all this, I should try to decide on geographical names for the different locations in my fantasy world. I started working a bit on that the other day, and I have some ideas, but I definitely need to do a lot more work with it.

*sigh*……………… πŸ˜›

Responses

  1. Yay for names! πŸ˜› I just posted a poll on my blog because I’m still lost as to what to name my MC. However on a good note, I spent two hours looking up names for other characters and have them all narrowed down to two or three names πŸ˜›

    Anyway, I don’t know why but I really like Calder and Meris for the guy. And Elysia and Celestyn for the girl.

    I think “Calder and Celestyn” or “Meris and Elysia” sound the best together–the latter would be good because they are both Latin meanings πŸ™‚ But those are my choices for the names whether or not you wish to take them πŸ˜›

    • Hmm…okie dokie. I think Meris and Calder were probably the ones I liked best for the guy, too. I’m still up in the air about what to name the girl though, but…eh. I’ll figure it out I’m sure. πŸ˜›

  2. πŸ™‚

    BTW, I chose my name for my MC. It was hard but I chose Miyuki. Mainly because I’m gonna use the fact that she was born during the winter and so her parents named her after that. πŸ™‚ Plus it has lots of symbolism for later on in the book too!

    • Yay! Okay. πŸ™‚

  3. […] After much deliberation, I have decided upon the names for the two folks in my background legend. (See previous post.)Β The winners […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

