Posted by: Caitlynn | June 29, 2009

Motivation

Or, more accurately, the lack thereof.

I must confess, recently, I haven’t been anywhere near as motivated with my writing as I should be. At the beginning of summer, I thought that I’d get so much writing done — I had such big plans! And, unlike summers past, I actually got off to a pretty good start.

…Only to see my motivation gradually dwindle, sputter, and become comatose for intervals at a time.

I’ve been working on revising my novel this summer. That was suppose to be my major project, and I had every intention of finishing my first round of revisions by the end of June, but with six or seven chapters to go and only a few days left to the end of the month, I don’t see it happening. It’s just so intimidating, though. There’s a battle that has to happen, and I have no idea how to write an interesting battlescene. And the ending needs changing, because…well…just because I don’t want to leave it the way it is now. Plus, as I exchange writing with one of my friends for the purpose of critiquing, I’m learning about more and more gaps and faults that need fixing…and the desire to go back and work on those is rather strong. Yet, even that prospect is a bit intimidating.

And then there’s all my other writing. I actually have done a decent amount of writing this summer, but unfortunately, most of it has been just for fun. Lots of little short stories, but none of which seem particularly publishable, even with an appropriate amount of revision. And my zeal for even those is starting to die down a bit…

I have some other projects going on, but I’m a little nervous about having started them, considering how things have been going with the above-stated plans. The first is that I’ve joined a site called TheCypressTimes as an author. Basically, it’s an online newspaper. A few months ago, I got an email asking if I’d like to contribute to their Faith section, but I was hesitant, because I had never heard of them before. But I’ve seen a few people from FaithWriters and Facebook mention them now, so I decided I’d email them back and see if the offer still stood. It’s unpaid, of course, but good exposure. At any rate, they emailed back almost right away, and say that they’d love for me to contribute. I was initially very happy. Now, however, I’m asking myself why I ever agreed to it. I have to submit Christian fiction. No problem, right? Wrong. Everything I have that’s explicitly Christian in nature is old, poorly written, and has a forced-sounding message. Everything decent and newer is, at best, implicit in it’s Christian message…but I don’t know if that’ll be acceptable for them. Plus, I have to decide on something that’s good enough for me to want people to read it, but not so great that I can’t…y’know…submit it elsewhere, to something that’s actually a print magazine.

I also have another tentative project coming up…but…I’ll write more on that later, depending on whether or not I get the go ahead for it. For now I’ll just say that it’s something concerning my church, which is closing in November.

So…yeah. That’s what’s been going on in my (writing) life, lately.

Responses

  1. Wow! I am jealous 😦 Your writing life sounds MUCH more fruitful than mine…

  2. Don’t be. It’s only fruitful if I actually act on any of this. 😛


Leave a Reply

Categories

